[translation] “Kuroko no Basuke” Solo Series Vol. 4 (Midorima)

As per request, here’s the second song from Midorima’s solo album. You can find my translation of the other song on the album here.

I apologize for having been MIA for the past month or so. If everything goes well, I should be able to start updating regularly again in the latter half of next week.

LACM-4941
「曰く蟹座の吉日に」/ “Iwaku Kaniza no Kichijitsu ni”
“On a Lucky Day for Cancers”

緑間真太郎 (小野大輔)
Midorima Shintarou (Ono Daisuke)

“Endure each trial set before you, and God will do the rest…”

Translation:

Du-ru-ru… / Up down

What’s the matter? / Out of luck? / What is it you lack?
Today’s lucky item for Cancers
Is never going to leave my side

I don my glasses using only my right hand
It’s another routine morning / And a refreshing start to my day
According to Oha Asa, today might be somewhat lucky
Even so, it’s never wise to tempt fate

Are you doing everything in your power?
Endure each trial set before you, and God will do the rest

What’s the matter? / Out of luck? / What have you overlooked?
Align yourself with the circling of the stars
Don’t you see? / This is what I believe / My strength stems from
Perfection down to the finest detail
My method has been proven time and again / It’s the real deal

I tie the laces of my basketball shoes, starting with the right
Not a nail is left untrimmed
I strive for perfection
And keep this concrete goal in mind

Start by doing everything in your power
Fulfill the criteria to be chosen by fate / Let’s prove its worth

What’s the matter? / Out of luck? / Is this another test?
Submit yourself to the circling of the stars
Don’t you see? / This is what I believe / My way is the right way
Today’s lucky item for Cancers
Is never going to leave my side

– –

Kanji

– –

Romaji:

Du-ru-ru… / Up down

Doushita / tsuitenai no ka / nani ga tarinai
Kyou no kaniza no rakkii aitemu
Hadami hanasazu hosei na no da yo

Migite dake de megane wo kake / itsumo doori no asa
Sugasugashii hodo no / suberidashi na no da
Oha Asa iwaku kyou ha kichijitsu mazumazu na no darou
Saritote unmei ni / yudan ha kinmotsu

Yareru koto ha subete yareteiru no ka?
Katsugu ken ha subete katsugi tsukushite / tenmei wo mate

Doushita / tsuitenai no ka / nani ga ikenai
Hoshi no meguri ni shisei wo tadasu
Sou darou / shinjiru no da / ore no tsuyosa ha
Chimitsu na made no kodawari no moto
Urauchi sareta / honmono na no da yo

Basshu no himo ha / migi kara musubu / tsume mo nukarinai
Banzen wo kishite / kakan ni nozomu no da

Yareru koto wo subete yatte hajimete
Unmei ni erabareru shikaku wo eru / shoumei shiyou

Doushita / tsuitenai no ka / kore mo shiren ka
Hoshi no meguri ni juujun de are
Sou darou / shinjiru no da / ore ha tadashii
Kyou no kaniza no rakkii aitemu
Hadami hanasazu hosei na no da yo

– – –

10 thoughts on “[translation] “Kuroko no Basuke” Solo Series Vol. 4 (Midorima)

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hey grimm, did you know that you’re really quite awesome?
    I’ve been enjoying your translations for a year, but I’ve never thought to say thank you directly.

    I said that, but I can’t thank you enough for the crazy amount of translations that you’ve worked on, especially for that monster KnB PSP project!

    Hope you’re ready for season two of bball this October!

    Like

    • grimmfeather says:

      Thanks for your comment! That means a lot to me. I’m so glad to hear you’ve been enjoying the translations.

      Haha, it’s been almost a year since I started working on the PSP game, and there’s still a long way to go. I definitely want to see it through to the end, though.

      Yeah, I can’t wait for more bball in October! Some of the scenes from the manga are going to look awesome when they get animated. 😀

      Like

  2. Thank you! says:

    I just really want to thank you for your translation, I mean WOW!
    Doing those novels and the Kuroko No Basuke PSP project!

    What a lot of work you have done, and thank you so much for listening to our requests and actually doing them unlike other translation sites.

    You may have heard a lot of thank yous but they are there for a reason, because we all love and appreciate your work and time towards this site.

    Once again, I truly thank you

    ^ ____ ^

    Like

    • grimmfeather says:

      First off, thanks for such a lovely comment! I’m honored by your words, and I really appreciate what you wrote.

      I know it sometimes takes me a while to fulfill requests, but I do try my hardest to accommodate them. I love translating, and knowing that other people enjoy the translations makes the process even more fun. 😀

      Thanks again for dropping by! ^^ I hope you’ll continue to support this blog.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.