[translation] “Kuroko no Basuke” Duet Series Vol. 1 (Kuroko & Kagami) Mini Drama

「黒子のバスケ」キャラクターソング Duet Series Vol. 1: ミニドラマ
“Kuroko no Basuke” Character Song Duet Series Vol. 1: Mini Drama

黒子テツヤ (小野賢章) & 火神大我 (小野友樹)
Kuroko Tetsuya (Ono Kensho) & Kagami Taiga (Ono Yuuki)

Kuroko: “Kagami-kun, that was two mistakes, not one.”

– – –

Translation:

[Kagami dribbles and dunks the ball]

Kuroko: Kagami-kun.

Kagami: Uwaah! Quit popping up out of nowhere, Kuroko!

Kuro: I kept trying to get your attention…

Ka: Really? Guess I didn’t notice.

Kuro: You’re here really early. There’s still quite a bit of time before morning practice starts.

Ka: Yeah, I was too worked up and just couldn’t sit still. Damn, our next match just can’t come fast enough!

Kuro: Is that so?

Ka: You’re one to talk. You’re here pretty early yourself.

Kuro: I feel the same way.

Ka: Alright, let’s play together, then.

Kuro: Okay.

– –

Ka: ‘Kay, let’s take a break.

Kuro: Okay.

Ka: Jeez, you’re really useless at anything other than making passes. ‘S not like you’re slacking off in practice, though.

Kuro: I’m a late bloomer.

Ka: You’re gettin’ defensive about that? Well, compared to when I first met you, I think you’ve improved some.

Kuro: You think so?

Ka: Uh…I guess.

Kuro: I’m glad to hear it.

Ka: Huh?

Kuro: I said I would become Kagami-kun’s shadow. But that doesn’t mean that I want to depend on you. I want to win matches with you as your teammate. So I want to become even stronger.

Ka: You have a knack for coming up with the most embarrassing lines…!

Kuro: I’m not good at making jokes.

Ka: I know. But ya got one thing wrong.

Kuro: Hm?

Ka: We don’t just “want” to win; we will win! And we don’t just “want” to get stronger; we will get stronger!

Kuro: That’s right. But, Kagami-kun, that was two mistakes, not one.

Ka: Shut up! … Hey, Kuroko, I told ya before about how I was in America up until my second year of middle school, right?

Kuro: Yes.

Ka: Back then, I was surrounded by guys stronger than me. Every day was a challenge—it was so much fun! But when I came back to Japan, I was shocked by the low level of the basketball here. Honestly, even when I started at Seirin, I didn’t expect much. But I changed my mind after watching you play and hearing stories about the guys from the “Generation of Miracles”. There’re five guys we’ve gotta beat! Bring it on!

Kuro: Kagami-kun, do you like basketball?

Ka: ‘Course I do! So I don’t want to lose to anyone!

Kuro: I like basketball, too, and I know I want to win.

Ka: Yeah!

Kuro: But when I win, I want to feel happy about it.

Ka: Is that what you were talkin’ about before, when you said that somethin’ “important” was missing when you were in middle school?

Kuro: I’m not sure. That’s just the way I feel now.

Ka: Hmmm. Well, finding the answer might not be easy, but if that’s your basketball, then ya should just use it to defeat the “Generation of Miracles”! And then we’ll become number one in Japan!

Kuro: Yes!

[doors opening]

Ka: Oh?

Kuro: Looks like everyone else is here.

Ka: Sweet, let’s go!

Kuro: Yes!

[END]

– – –

7 thoughts on “[translation] “Kuroko no Basuke” Duet Series Vol. 1 (Kuroko & Kagami) Mini Drama

  1. Gaby says:

    OMG! Thanks a lot!!! I love them so much!!!
    If I wear my BL glasses, they are my fave pairing! If I try not to (difficult task!), I am still in love with their friendship and how it as evolved over time!

    Like

    • grimmfeather says:

      No problem! Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      Yeah, I agree. Their personalities are so perfectly complementary, and it’s fun to see how far they’ve come since they started at Seirin.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.