[translation] “STYLE” by Kamiya Hiroshi

I have really fallen in love with this song. One of the reasons I enjoy translating is that it allows me to get mentally “closer” to the material, explore its meaning in depth, and reflect on the results. After watching the video of the making of “Hare no Hi” (Kamiya’s first mini-album), I feel that these lyrics (although they weren’t written by Kamiya) really embody Kamiya’s evolution as an artist, as well as the doubts he felt when he began his singing career and the resolution and determination he used to overcome those doubts. He has come a long way since then, and the passion with which he and other seiyuu approach their work really inspires me. Just my two cents.

神谷浩史 – 「STYLE」
Kamiya Hiroshi – “STYLE”

“I don’t know the right answer, but I can decide that for myself…”

Nota bene: italicized words are written in English in the original lyrics

Translation:

The pieces of my dream that slipped through my fingers and the things I found in exchange
I want to believe, just a little bit, that I can continue to transform in my own STYLE

I know, I know, I’m too talkative, but trying to understand the reason why is a waste of time
It sounds like I’m just making excuses, but I’m well aware of that
Knockin’ Knockin’ I tried asking the question, even though I had no intention of answering it
If only I had acknowledged the burden I carried, which would have never steered me wrong

I’ve grown sick of my regrets, since I have plenty and some to spare
So it makes no difference if I gather one or two more

The pieces of my dream that slipped through my fingers and the things I found in exchange
I don’t know the right answer, but I can decide that for myself
I can’t surrender to that future, since I want to be worthy of it
I have the power to change; I’ll pursue my ideal self from now on

I think, I think, even though I’m beaten and bruised, my heart is still hopeful
The points I gathered haphazardly form a very special line
Growin’ Growin’ the time is now; I want to tackle the fiercest obstacle
So that I can face whatever comes my way in the future with sincerity

Yesterday’s way of doing things is going out of style
As I improve and struggle, I’ll advance

I made it this far by fumbling and grasping, and I have surely changed along the way
With my values and my restlessness, I’ll blaze a trail forward
“The way things are” is boring, right? “The way I am” is stifling
For the future that I envision, I’ll create my own limitless STYLE

The pieces of my dream that slipped through my fingers and the things I found in exchange
I don’t know the right answer, but I can decide that for myself
I can’t surrender to that future, since I want to be worthy of it
I have the power to change; I’ll pursue my ideal self from now on

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.