[translation] “Houkago no Oujisama” Episode 3

houkago-no-oujisama-3_jijii-wa-moteru

「新テニスの王子様 OVA vs Genius10」Vol. 3「放課後の王子様」
New Prince of Tennis OVA vs Genius10 Vol. 3 “The Prince of After School”

Kite: That’s the thing about island time—it’s always out to get you!

As per request from Syame.

– –

[0:08]

Banner: The “Let’s Be Nice to Echizen” Party

houkago-no-oujisama-3_uncool-duo

[1:00]

Title: The Uncool Duo

Kai: I think Coach’s gonna give us an earful again come Valentine’s Day. He’ll be like, “Get yer heads outta the clouds!” and then pile on the practice.

Hirakoba: That’s what ya get with lame old geezers past their prime.

Kai: Hey, whaddaya say we ask one of the girls to give Coach some chocolate? If he gets in on the action, too, maybe he’ll get off our case.

Hirakoba: Ooh, I like the sound of that.

Girl A: Harumi-chan—!

[1:30]

SFX: flinch

Girl A: Harumi-chan, what kind of chocolate do you want this year?

Girl B: You can’t turn us down this year!

Saotome: Hey, you darn brats! Where d’ya get off callin’ me by my first name?!

[1:37]

SFX: chatter chatter

Saotome: Who’d want chocolate from a buncha kids anyway?! Shoo! Go on, get!

Girl A: Hey, wait up!

Text: He’s more popular than we are?

Hirakoba and Kai: (Don’t that make him more popular than us?)

Kite: You should’ve seen how much chocolate he received last year.

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_baby-habu

[1:50]

Title: Pre-Habu

SFX: whoosh

Hirakoba: Habu!

[1:57]

Hirakoba: It’s really startin’ to shape up!

Chinen: I saaaw thaaat.

[2:03]

SFX: startled

Hirakoba: Whoa, Chinen?!

Chinen: I heard ya call that a “habu”, but it looked more like a baby habu to me.

Hirakoba: T-This’s why I don’t want anybody seein’ my moves while they’re still a work in progress!

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_buchous-present

[2:16]

Title: A Present from the Captain

Tezuka: Kaidou, I have something for you.

Kaidou: Captain Tezuka?

Tezuka: I won this in a lottery in the shopping district, but I believe you’d get more use out of it.

Kaidou: What is it…?

[2:36]

Kaidou: (I think…he’s testing me.)

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_no-ghosts

[2:41]

Title: There’s No Such Thing as Ghosts

Echizen: Kaidou-senpai, is it true that you’re afraid of ghosts?

SFX: erk!

Kaidou: Don’t be stupid! It’s not like I’m scared of ghosts or anything! I just don’t believe in all that occult stuff!

[2:58]

SFX: ka-chak

SFX: drip drip

SFX: slam

Echizen: Is something wrong, senpai?

Kaidou: N-Nope, not at all!

[3:06]

SFX: tremble tremble

Kaidou: Q-Quit slacking off! Hurry up and get to practice!

Tezuka: Kaidou is the very picture of someone who has lost his composure. What happened to him?

Echizen: Beats me.

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_chillin

[3:18]

Title: Chillin’

Tanishi: Time for a little catnap.

[3:29]

SFX: slap

Kite: Snap out of it, Tanishi-kun!

Tanishi: Crap… I almost got sucked into island time!

Kite: That’s the thing about island time—it’s always out to get you! You must be on your guard!

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_freediving

[3:44]

Title: Freediving

SFX: shaaa

Saotome: Alright, get divin’!

Higa: Yeah—!

[3:52]

SFX: glub glub

[3:56]

SFX: blaaah

SFX: geh!

[3:59]

SFX: cough cough

Tanishi: That ain’t fair, Eishirou! Yer trying to make me laugh, lettin’ it all hang out when we’re freedivin’!

Saotome: Hey! Less blabbin’ and more divin’, Tanishi!

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_goin-ta-tokyo

[4:07]

Title: Imma Goin’ ta Tokyo

Tanishi: Yer special skill’s designing clothes, ain’t it, Eishirou? I wanna wear some cool clothes when we go ta Tokyo, so could ya draw a little somethin’ up for me?

Text: I’ll get my mom ta make it for me.

Kite: Oh my, our little Tanishi-kun is growing up, is he? I’ll have to see what I can do.

[4:26]

SFX: brain freeeze

Text: Later

Kite: Tanishi-kun, it’s finished.

[4:29]

Drawing: The Last Kijimuna (1)

Kite: The concept was “a fairy who alights in the big city”.

[4:35]

Tanishi: I guess havin’ a special skill don’t necessarily mean you have to use your power for good.

Kai: What’s the matter, Kei-kun?

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_push-kabajis-buttons

[4:43]

Title: What Makes Kabaji Angry

Hiyoshi: I wanted to know what would tick Kabaji off, so I’ve been asking him a bunch of questions, but nothing’s done the trick so far.

Text: That wouldn’t make me angry.

Ootori: You spend hours building a ship in a bottle, only for someone to break it.

Text: That wouldn’t make me angry.

Hiyoshi: Then how about this?

[5:02]

Hiyoshi: You boil pasta for the exact amount of time written on the package, but the noodles come out too soft.

SFX: freeze

Ootori: Whoa! That’s the first time he’s hesitated about his answer!

Hiyoshi: So he’s the type that insists on having his pasta al dente, huh?

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_first

[5:17]

Title: First!

Hiyoshi: Alright, I made it to morning practice before anybody else. Now I’ve got this wide open court all to myself again.

[5:28]

SFX: fidget fidget

[5:32]

SFX: yippee! hooray!

SFX: roll roll

[5:35]

Ootori: (Oh dear. I missed my chance to make my entrance again.)

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_push-hiyoshis-buttons

[5:40]

Title: Messing with Hiyoshi

Mukahi: Yo, Hiyoshi! You’re awfully quiet today.

Hiyoshi: Mukahi-san.

Oshitari: What’s this? Not much for away games, eh? That makes one more of ours who’s “a lion at home and a mouse abroad”!

Hiyoshi: Don’t be absurd. I’m just taking this seriously, unlike a certain two senpai of mine.

[6:02]

Hiyoshi: You should consider practicing instead of just loafing around, senpai. Good grief… At this rate, it won’t be long until you’re forced to retire from the team.

[6:11]

Oshitari: He’s giving us lip, but the way he folded these towels says his parents raised him right.

Mukahi: He even folded our towels for us.

SFX: blush

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_all-the-rage

[6:22]

Title: It’s All the Rage

Mukahi: Woo-hoo! Found a shortcut!

SFX: boing

Hiyoshi: That’s dangerous, Mukahi-san!

[6:32]

SFX: skid

SFX: peace!

Mukahi: Yay! Mukahi Gakuto, jumping to rave reviews!

[6:37]

SFX: whoosh

Hiyoshi: My Gekokujou is all the rage right now, too!

[6:41]

SFX: thwack

Hiyoshi: Wait, there’s no way something like that would be popular, Mukahi-san!

Mukahi: Whaaat?! You were totally on board with it just a second ago!

– –

houkago-no-oujisama-3_thats-doubles

[6:49]

Title: That’s Doubles for Ya

Mukahi: That was your ball just now!

Hiyoshi: No, it was yours, Mukahi-san!

Oshitari: My, my. Fighting again, are we?

[7:02]

Oshitari: You want to jump even higher, don’t ya, Gakuto?

SFX: higher—!

Oshitari: And you’re aiming to overthrow the folks at the top, right, Hiyoshi?

[7:10]

Oshitari: You’re both aimin’ for the top, ain’t ya? You’ve gotta stick together!

Mukahi: Yuushi, that’s gross.

Hiyoshi: That’s disgusting, Oshitari-san.

[7:18]

Text: I guess that’s one thing they can agree on.

– –

[7:22]

Text: The End

– –

Translation Notes:

(1) In Okinawan mythology, kijimuna are small, mischievous wood spirits. A festival named after them is held every year in Okinawa.

– – –

3 thoughts on “[translation] “Houkago no Oujisama” Episode 3

  1. Zasha says:

    Are more of these to come? Can’t find translations anywhere sadly. Same for message in bottle. Which is weird since this is so popular.

    Like

Leave a Reply

