[translation] “Kuroko no Basuke” 41.5Q OVA「もう一回やりませんか」

41.5ova_3

黒子のバスケ 2nd SEASON 第6巻
第41.5Q (OVA)「もう一回やりませんか」

Kuroko no Basuke 2nd Season Vol. 6
41.5Q (OVA) “Mou Ikkai Yarimasen Ka?” /
“Can We Do That One More Time?”

Aomine: “Let’s stand on the court together someday, Tetsu.”

Key:
[timestamp]
(thoughts/narration)

You can watch the OVA on Tudou here. Thanks to angela for the link.

– –

[0:12]

Sign: Teikou Middle School

Momoi: I’m not kidding! They say that even after practice is over and the place is deserted, you can hear the sound of someone dribbling a ball in the third-string gymnasium!

Aomine: What? That’s ridiculous.

Momoi: Wait! Dai-cha—Aomine-kun!

Aomine: Geez. Who ever heard of a ghost playing basketball? If there really is a ghost, maybe we can play a little one-on-one.

– –

[0:45]

Aomine: Yo! Huh?! Wait, are you serious?! There really is a ghost playing basketball in here! No way. I’m sure there was somebody practicing in here until just now. I must’ve just missed him. But then why do I get the feeling the sound stopped right when I opened the door?

Kuroko: Excuse me.

Aomine: Oh my God, oh my God! I’m so sorry! Please forgive me! I’m sorry for bringing gravure magazines to school! I’m sorry for sleeping during class! I swear I’ll never do it again!

Kuroko: Oh? Aomine-kun.

Aomine: Wha…?

Kuroko: (We met for the first time during the fall of our first year at Teikou Middle School.)

– –

[OP]

– –

[2:55]

Title: 41.5Q – Can We Do That One More Time?

Aomine: So you’ve got so little presence that nobody even noticed you were in here? That’s crazy.

Kuroko: Aomine-kun, it’s not that funny.

Aomine: My bad. Wait, how do you know my name?

Kuroko: You’re famous for being one of the first-year starters for the first string.

Aomine: Oh, yeah? So, what about you?

Kuroko: Hm? I’m in the third string.

Aomine: That’s not it! I’m asking you what your name is. Who cares if you’re in the first string or the third string or whatever? You love basketball enough to hang around and practice by yourself every night, right? There’s no such thing as a bad guy who loves basketball. That’s my theory, and I’m sticking to it.

Kuroko: What a strange theory.

Aomine: Huh?

Kuroko: My name is Kuroko Tetsuya. Pleased to meet you.

– –

[3:47]

Kuroko: Are you sure you don’t mind practicing with me?

Aomine: Yeah! Ready when you are.

Kuroko: I see. Please prepare yourself.

Aomine: Bring it on!

[4:20]

Kuroko: That really hurts.

Aomine: What the heck?! After that little speech of yours, I was expecting you to be some kind of awesome player!

Kuroko: What do you mean? I am in the third string, you know.

Aomine: What?

Kuroko: What I meant by that was, “I’m still inexperienced, so please prepare yourself accordingly.”

Aomine: You’re a real oddball, you know that?

Kuroko: I suppose…we should stop?

Aomine: C’mon.

[5:25]

Aomine: Hey, you just—

Kuroko: That was incredible.

Aomine: Huh?

Kuroko: Aomine-kun, can we do that one more time?

Aomine: Sure!

– –

[5:42]

Kuroko: I need to return the key to the faculty room, so I’ll be taking my leave. Thank you for all your help.

Aomine: No problem! See ya later.

[5:56]

Aomine: He’s different, that’s for sure.

– –

[6:00]

Employee: Thank you very much!

Aomine: Oh, thanks—whoa!

Kuroko: Hello! We meet again.

Aomine: What’re you doing here?

Kuroko: I like their vanilla shakes.

Aomine: Yeah…? Here, catch. There’s no way that shake will be enough, right? That one’s on me.

Kuroko: Thank you very much.

Aomine: You live around here?

Kuroko: Yes.

Aomine: Then let’s walk home together.

Kuroko: Okay. Oh, but I don’t think it’s a good idea to walk around with both hands full.

Aomine: Hey…are you the type that gets hung up on the small stuff?

– –

[6:54]

Aomine: Wow… So you stay behind every day to practice so you can move up from the third string?

Kuroko: Yes. I want to make as much progress as I can.

Aomine: That’s impressive. There aren’t many guys who do that, first string included.

Kuroko: But I have a long road ahead of me.

Aomine: Hm?

Kuroko: Watching you play made me realize that, Aomine-kun. I think the first string is still out of reach for me.

Aomine: Hm… Hey, the first time I was on offense when we went one-on-one, why didn’t you fall for the fake? It should’ve looked like the real deal.

Kuroko: I…had a feeling you would try a fake.

Aomine: Huh?

Kuroko: It was just a hunch, but I happened to luck out.

Aomine: Yeah…? (Luck had nothing to do with it. Even after that, it felt like he was reading my moves. Not that it really mattered, though, since he doesn’t have the speed to keep up. This guy…is kinda interesting!)

– –

[8:00]

Aomine: Hey, Tetsu! Wanna head over to practice together?

Kuroko: But—

Aomine: Forget about the trash. Just leave it there or something.

Midorima: Aomine, there is still cleaning to be done.

Aomine: Hey, wait! What the hell is this thing, Midorima?!

Midorima: It’s today’s lucky item.

Aomine: That’s not what I meant!

Kuroko: (Aomine-kun and I were basically polar opposites, so I honestly didn’t think we would get along that well.)

– –

[8:29]

Kuroko: (However, it turned out that none of that really mattered, since I was overwhelmed and inspired by his style of basketball.)

Aomine: What’s the matter?

Kuroko: Oh, it’s nothing. You really are amazing, Aomine-kun.

Aomine: What? Well, speaking of being amazing, I think you’ve got me beat. There aren’t many guys around who love basketball more than I do. Let’s stand on the court together someday, Tetsu.

Kuroko: Okay.

– –

[9:20]

Poster: Men’s Basketball Team Wins Nationals

Congratulations / Ever Victorious

Student A: I went to cheer for them at this game. It was incredible! Especially when one of our first years, Aomine, went head-to-head with Inoue, a second year from Kamizaki! They were so into it, like neither one of them was gonna give an inch!

Student B: Wow…

– –

[9:41]

Banner: Ever Victorious

Teikou Middle School Basketball Club

Aomine: What? The promotion test was today?

Akashi: Yes. The members of the second and third strings should have taken the test. I expect a few of them will be promoted to the first string.

Aomine: Really? Sweet.

Murasakibara: Oh, Minechin? You’re gonna practice some more?

Aomine: Yeah! Next time I’m up against Inoue, I’m gonna score twenty points off him if it kills me!

Murasakibara: Oh, yeah…? Good luck with that. So, what’re you up to, Midochin?

Midorima: There has been a foul stench coming from over here lately.

Murasakibara: Oh, that? Minechin and Zakichin have been stuffing their dirty t-shirts in their lockers.

Midorima: What? Aomine!

– –

[10:37]

Aomine: Oh? Took you long enough! Hey… What’s wrong?

Kuroko: Aomine-kun.

Aomine: Did you get hurt or something?

Kuroko: I’m considering…quitting the basketball club.

Aomine: What? Why?!

Kuroko: I realized that, with my skills, it’s impossible for me to get promoted to the second string, let alone play on the same team with you.

Aomine: Huh?

Kuroko: I love basketball, but it’s already been half a year since I joined, and if I’m not cut out for basketball, then there’s nothing I can do about it. Especially here, at Teikou Middle School…I can’t see myself ever being of any use to the team.

Aomine: There’s no such thing as a useless player on a team. Even if you never get to play in a game, I can’t stand to think that a guy who stays later to practice than anybody in the first string—than anybody on the entire team—is completely useless! At the very least, I respected you for what you were doing, and you made me want to work even harder! I can’t promise you that you’ll get your chance if you don’t give up. But if you give up, then it’s all over! I…don’t want you to stop playing basketball!

Akashi: Aomine. So you’ve been practicing in here.

Aomine: Yeah. The other gym is too crowded.

Murasakibara: I can’t believe you’re practicing all alone.

Aomine: I’m not alone.

Akashi: Oh?

Murasakibara: Whoa, seriously? How long have you been standing there?

Akashi: And who is this?

Aomine: Tetsu. We always practice together.

Murasakibara: Did we always have a guy like him on the team?

Aomine: He’s not in the first string. He’s still in the third string.

Murasakibara: Hm? That explains it. C’mon, let’s get out of here.

Akashi: No…I’m somewhat intrigued by him. How interesting. I’ve never seen his type before. It’s possible…that he possesses talents completely different from our own.

– –

[12:57]

Scoreboard: Teikou / Haranishi

Murasakibara: It’s almost freaky how well this is going. Especially for those two.

Midorima: Do you have your answer now?

Akashi: He’s surpassing my expectations.

Aomine: Tetsu!

Kuroko: (He and I stood on the court together at the end of winter.)

– –

[14:00]

Scoreboard: Teikou / Kawaki

Player A: Aomine’s unbelievable. He scored eighty points all by himself.

Player B: When Aomine’s on the court, the game is as good as over. They call him a prodigy, but he’s more like a monster.

– –

[14:13]

Kuroko: (The next summer, Aomine-kun started skipping practice.)

– –

[14:25]

Kise: Is Aominecchi absent again today?

Akashi: Yes. As is Kuroko.

Kise: Kurokocchi, too? That’s weird.

Akashi: He probably couldn’t stand to see him like that anymore. Not that anything he says can reach Aomine now.

– –

[14:50]

Kuroko: Aomine-kun!

Aomine: Tetsu? What about practice?

Kuroko: Would you like to walk home together?

Aomine: Alright, let’s head home.

– –

[15:03]

Kuroko: Aomine-kun, you’ve been skipping practice a lot recently.

Aomine: Yeah…? Not like it matters. If I practice, I’ll just get better.

Kuroko: What?

Aomine: The harder I work at it, the more boring basketball gets. Besides, I’m sure I’ll never find what I’m looking for… Basketball’s just a game, anyway. I’m gonna start skipping some of our games, too.

Kuroko: You can’t do that!

Aomine: A popsicle?!

Kuroko: It’s all I can do just to keep up with the rest of the team. To be honest, I can’t say I understand what you’re going through. But if I were your opponent…I know for a fact that I would never want you to hold back or slack off during a game, no matter how great the difference in our abilities. Besides, it won’t be long until you find someone even more amazing than you, Aomine-kun.

Aomine: Heh. You’re right.

Kuroko: I know.

Aomine: Come to think of it, I still have to score twenty points off Inoue from Kamizaki. Maybe he’s gotten even better by now.

Kuroko: I can’t believe you can even think about skipping games when there’s an opponent like him out there.

Aomine: Shuddup!

Kuroko: That hurts!

– –

[16:53]

Scoreboard: Teikou / Kamizaki

Akashi: We’re going to have Kise sub out for Kuroko. Otherwise, our strategy hasn’t changed. We’re going to win.

Teikou: Yeah!

Kise: Aominecchi, they’re going to start without you.

Aomine: Huh? Oh, right. Wait, what about you?

Kise: I got subbed out for Kurokocchi. Did you space out again?

Aomine: Sorry, my bad.

Akashi: Momoi, how many points has Aomine scored today?

Momoi: Thirty-six points.

Akashi: I see.

[17:37]

Akashi: Kuroko. I want you to focus on passing to Aomine.

Kuroko: Understood.

Akashi: Let’s teach them the true meaning of defeat.

[18:02]

Inoue: This game is totally one-sided.

[18:17]

Aomine: Alright!

Inoue: I’ve had enough.

Aomine: (What’s going on? Is this their way of saying they’ve completely given up? So this is what happens when I put in a little effort? If my opponents lose their will to compete, then where’s the fun in playing basketball?)

[19:05]

Aomine: Tetsu. Yeah, it’s no use. The only one who can beat me…is me.

– –

[19:37]

Momoi: Did you really turn down another one of the high school recruiters?

Aomine: What’s it to you?

Momoi: How many does that make? Why do you keep turning them down?

Aomine: I didn’t turn them down. They’re the ones who drew the line when I said I’d play in games but wouldn’t attend practice.

Momoi: What did you expect? How are you supposed to work with your teammates if you don’t go to practice?

Aomine: Just drop it already. What’s the point in practicing when I’ll just end up widening the gap between me and everybody else?

– –

[20:12]

Harasawa: Hm.

Sign: Reception Office

Harasawa: That is a bit of a problem. But very well. We are willing to give you the benefit of the doubt.

– –

[20:27]

Imayoshi: Oh, look who it is.

Aomine: Huh?

Imayoshi: Aomine-kun…I presume?

Aomine: Who the heck are you?

Imayoshi: Imayoshi Shouichi. Pleasure to meet ya. I’m the captain of the basketball team at Touou, the school that came to scout you a little while ago.

Aomine: Yeah? So what?

Imayoshi: We’ve been putting some real effort into scouting lately. What we want more than anything is to recruit a player like you, a member of the so-called “Generation of Miracles”. That’s why I was determined to meet you in person.

Aomine: Oh? So, was it worth it?

Imayoshi: Well, that’s the thing. See, it’s even worse than I expected. You’re too soft. You’d be better off not coming to our school.

Aomine: What’d you say?

Imayoshi: I’ve seen the tape of your recent games. Part of you is convinced you’re unbeatable, but deep down in your heart, there’s a part of you that wants to lose, am I right?

You feel isolated on account of your exceptional strength, and since you can’t stand feeling that way, you’re waiting. Waiting to find someone who’s your equal, or perhaps even stronger than you are.

Well, I hate to break it to you, but you’re the only one holding out hope for something like that. Heh. That goes double for us. That’s precisely why the coach deferred his decision.

With that said, if you ever decide to stop waiting…and find what it takes to be the best, then we’d be happy to have ya.

Aomine: Ha. You’re a real piece of work. I’ll think about it.

[ED]

– –

[22:16]

Sign: Teikou Middle School

Harasawa: Do you think you’ll be able to get along with him?

Imayoshi: If we give him a little free rein, it should work out. Ironically enough, I’m willing to put my trust in his strength, if nothing else. Heh.

– –

[23:33]

Kuroko: (We would meet again a few months later, this time wearing the uniforms of different teams.)

– – –

44 thoughts on “[translation] “Kuroko no Basuke” 41.5Q OVA「もう一回やりませんか」

  1. angela says:

    i don’t know where he said “You feel isolated on account of your exceptional strength, and since you can’t stand feeling that way, you’re waiting. Waiting to find someone who’s your equal, or perhaps even stronger than you are.

    Well, I hate to break it to you”

    i know “, but you’re the only one holding out hope for something like that” because i only know demo which mean but haha

    Like

    • grimmfeather says:

      “You feel isolated…” is at [21:29] (“Amari ni mo…”).

      “Well, I hate to break it to you…” is at [21:41] (“Kedo, zannen nagara…”).

      “That goes double for us…” is at [21:47] (“Uchi wa toku ni wa…”).

      “With that said…” is at [21:55] (“Chuu wake de…”).

      Like

  2. minto says:

    hi thank you so much for translating. also, may I have your permission for using your translation to subbing? I notice other else been done it but I was also just done mine so if it’s alright then maybe I’ll upload them through tumblr. Will waiting for your answer first. Once again, thank you so much!

    Like

  3. Gaby says:

    Ah thanks a lot!!! 😀 Yesterday I was watching the raw and though I could understand what was going on (because I know the story as I read the manga), it’s much better following it with the corresponding translation ❤ ❤ ❤ My babieees! They were so cute and lovely!

    Like

  4. misora says:

    Thank you very much for translate the episode, you saved us to all, I’m so excited and very grateful for this. You are the best (⌒▽⌒)☆

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    Is this part of the teiko arc in the manga? So does that mean the teiko arc will not be shown in knb season 3 anime?

    Anyway thank you for the translation, they helped me so much! I couldn’t understand what they were saying before I read this (^_^;)

    Like

    • grimmfeather says:

      Most of the scenes in the OVA are taken straight out of the manga (especially chapter 205), but the entire Teikou arc spans chapters 204 to 227, and there’s a lot of (important) exposition and plot development that isn’t covered in the OVA. I think the OVA was intended to be an abridged version of Kuroko and Aomine’s history together. Since there’s so much material left to cover, and because the anime has been sticking pretty close to the manga thus far, I wouldn’t count out seeing the Teikou arc in some form in season 3 of the anime. 😀

      Thanks for your comment! I’m glad you enjoyed the translation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

