[translation] “Kuroko no Basuke” Solo Series Vol. 15 (Sakurai) Monologues

LACM-14205

桜井 良 (島崎信長)
Sakurai Ryou (Shimazaki Nobunaga)

“No matter who our opponent is, I swear I’ll use my three-pointers to carve through their defense!”

First Monologue: “I Refuse to Lose to Anyone”

Oh! I’m sorry! I’m sorry that someone like me is one of Touou’s starting members! I’m so, so sorry they call me the “Kamizake Captain”! But…on this team that values an individual’s abilities above all else, I earned this position with my own skills. So I absolutely refuse to lose to anyone! Aaah, I-I’m sorry! I’m sorry for being so impertinent! B-but…! No matter who our opponent is, I swear I’ll use my three-pointers to carve through their defense!

Second Monologue: “I Want to Build Self-Confidence”

In the Touou basketball club, my senpai, of course, as well as my classmates Aomine-san and Momoi-san, are all very individualistic. They give me a lot of inspiration and motivation every day. Aomine-san is especially incredible! Even though he’s only a first-year, he skips club activities without remorse. If only I could be…more confident, like Aomine-san. Oh, no, that’s—! I don’t mean to say that I think it’s okay to skip club activities! I’m sorry! [sighs] Everyone on the team tells me that I don’t have to be so timid. I know I shouldn’t be this way, but… If I can continue to improve my talents and build confidence in myself, like they have, then…maybe that will fix my bad habit of apologizing all the time.

– – –

5 thoughts on “[translation] “Kuroko no Basuke” Solo Series Vol. 15 (Sakurai) Monologues

  1. Gaby says:

    Omg he’s such a cutie! I laughed a bit because he’s all “sorry I’m so sorry” and then he drops things like “So I absolutely refuse to lose to anyone!” which is great. Thanks a lot for the translation ^^

    Like

      • grimmfeather says:

        Yeah, Imayoshi calls him “特攻隊長” (“tokkou taichou”) = “kamikaze attack captain/commander”. I’ve also seen it translated as “preemptive strike leader”. I would say Sakurai earned the nickname because of his highly accurate quick-release shots; he can release the ball quickly enough that the defense doesn’t have time to react or block the attack–hence, “kamikaze”.

        Like

Leave a Reply

