[translation] 「明日へのバトン」(“The Baton to Tomorrow”) by Kamiya Hiroshi

This was a tough translation, since the lyrics themselves are much more figurative than literal, and I hope I was able to do the song justice. I’ve been catching up on Natsume Yuujinchou lately, and this song nicely characterizes the transient, dreamlike tone of that series.

「明日へのバトン」- 神谷浩史
“The Baton to Tomorrow” – Kamiya Hiroshi

“Spring passed, but I never saw the sakura; there were fireworks, too, but I only heard the sound…”

The way I keep chasing after dreams is enough to make me laugh
Even though I had decided that I should just be myself
See, the wind blowing in my heart brought loneliness along with it once again
It aimed for the weaknesses that I had carelessly left unguarded as it circled closer, ready to call my bluff

When will I be able to brush off these feelings; I can do it, right?
Didn’t I decide to stand my ground and put a little more trust in myself?

Spring passed, but I never saw the sakura
There were fireworks, too, but I only heard the sound
Since those things are supposed to lead to the land of dreams
Without fearing the things I’m unable to do
I’ll shine as I greet the journey before me
Right now, I’m clutching the baton to tomorrow in my own two hands

I’m aware that my dear friends are smiling today, as well
On the other side of this telephone that will never ring
I noticed my patched-up shoelace and my shoe’s worn-down heel
But even though I haven’t yet left any footprints in my wake, I can change from here on out

There are tough times that you can enjoy despite the hardship, right?
When I was embarrassed and crying, didn’t I swear to put a little more trust in myself?

The setting sun that I watched as I drank for lack of sleep
And the right hand that I used to open the door
They’re supposed to lead to the land of dreams
Without fearing the things that will wound me
I’ll shine as I continue to run
Right now, I’m clutching the baton to tomorrow in my own two hands

Spring passed, but I never saw the sakura
There were fireworks, too, but I only heard the sound
Since those things are supposed to lead to the land of dreams
Without fearing the things I’m unable to do
I’ll shine as I greet the journey before me
Right now, I’m clutching the baton to tomorrow in my own two hands

4 thoughts on “[translation] 「明日へのバトン」(“The Baton to Tomorrow”) by Kamiya Hiroshi

  1. Lena says:

    This is my most favorite song by him and I’m almost crying here ;A; thank you, thank you so much!! And thanks for Mirror World too!! The lyrics are so perfect❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

