[translation] “Say Your Name! ~Dear Girl~” by Kamiya Hiroshi and Ono Daisuke

This song was the first track on the original “Dear Girl ~Stories~” album, and it was recently re-released on the “Stories” album. Somehow, “Say Your Name!” feels like old-school DGS; it’s fun to see how much HiroC and OnoD have changed/grown in the ~5 years they’ve been working on the show together. The lyrics are as sweet as ever, at any rate.

 

 

神谷浩史 x 小野大輔 – 「Say Your Name! ~Dear Girl~」
Kamiya Hiroshi x Ono Daisuke – “Say Your Name! ~Dear Girl~”

 

“I still cherish the sensation of feeling that our hands are close enough to touch…”

 

Nota bene: italicized words are written in English in the original lyrics

Translation:

While being sped along by the green lights, I rush to your side
Yesterday, I mistook the meaning of those tears and thoughtlessly left you alone like that

I was ashamed that I couldn’t convey my feelings, which got tangled and confused when I could no longer keep them hidden
Those words are water under the bridge; let’s throw them by the wayside and run

Right now, I’m thinking of you, only of you
Say your name! Say your name! Say your name!
Until this voice of mine reaches your heart
Only one Say your name Feel your heart

Until we can erase the shadows of sadness, let’s get out of this room now and look at the sky
If you smile that honest smile again, it’ll be just like returning to that time before

I still cherish the sensation of feeling that our hands are close enough to touch
Feeling kindness like this is what lets me keep on living, you know?

In this moment, basking in the breeze as we embrace one another
Say your name! Say your name! Say your name!
Just one, just one single realization is being etched into my mind
No more words Say your name, forever

Right now, I’m thinking of you, only of you
Say your name! Say your name! Say your name!
Until this voice of mine reaches your heart
Only one Say your name Feel your heart

Even if there comes a time when it seems like you might lose sight of it
Say your name! Say your name! Always
As long as I can give voice, give voice to these words
No more words Say your name, forever