[translation] “For myself” by Kamiya Hiroshi

After I translated this song, I realized that there’s already a translation out on the Internet, but this song has helped lift my spirits lately, so  I decided to share anyway. Practice is practice, after all. 😀

神谷浩史 – 「For myself」
Kamiya Hiroshi – “For myself”

“That’s the kind of guy I am, but the love I feel for you is recklessly real…”

Translation:

Your laughing face in profile and your cheerful voice
I want to try to make you so happy that you could cry
And so my own happiness will grow in turn

I should tell you that it’s all for your sake, but I can’t bring myself to say it
Even though that’s unforgivable of me
I want to bear the responsibility for it all
Even if I regret it, I shouldn’t blame anyone but myself

That’s the kind of guy I am, but
The love I feel for you is recklessly real

That’s why, no matter when or where,
I’ll make your happiness a reality
It might sound like I’m being pretentious, but
This is partially for my sake, too
Your laughing face in profile and your cheerful voice
I want to try to make you so happy that you could cry
And so my own happiness will grow in turn

Being together with me, imperfect as I am,
Must cause you a lot of trouble
But the support my treasured friends have always given me
Has saved me, and I’ve finally come this far

That’s the kind of guy I am, but
My determination to protect you is recklessly strong

That’s why, no matter when or where,
If you’re tired, I’ll stay by your side
It might sounds like I’m being pretentious, but
This is partially for my sake, too
Your lonely eyes and your crying voice
I want you to laugh through it, somehow, some way
Because that will make me smile, too

That’s why, no matter when or where,
I’ll make your happiness a reality
It might sound like I’m being pretentious, but
It’s partially for my sake, too
Your laughing face in profile and your cheerful voice
I want to try to make you so happy that you could cry
And so my own happiness will grow in turn

Leave a Reply

