[translation] 「ハレバレハート」(“Cheerful Heart”) by Kamiya Hiroshi

神谷浩史 – 「ハレバレハート」
Kamiya Hiroshi – “Harebare Haato” / “Cheerful Heart”

 

“This brilliantly bright sky was mirroring your smile…”

 

Nota Bene:

– 晴れ男 (“hare otoko”) = literally a “sunny man”, or one whose very presence makes the skies clear and the sun come out; in contrast to Ono Daisuke’s reputation as an 雨男 (“rainy man”) [I’m going to leave this phrase in Japanese, since it sounds awkward in English.]
* 低い所に水たまる (“hikui tokoro ni mizu tamaru”) = a Japanese proverb that literally means “water collects in low places”, in the sense that misery loves company and/or like attracts like (For example, when a crime is committed, the natural reaction is to suspect the person of the worst character.)

Translation:

It’s raining today, I feel down in the dumps, and I left my umbrella at home, of course
Even so, if I can just believe that it’ll be sunny tomorrow, then I can still try my best today

You told me that moping and brooding is really uncool
I remember the words that you once said to me

See, the key to becoming happy is surprisingly close at hand
The wonderfulness of this life all depends on your feelings from moment to moment

We can just leap over the water that has gathered before us*
There’s no such thing as a never-ending rain; let’s sprint forward
(Viva hare otoko!!)

This brilliantly bright sky was mirroring your smile
If I’m completely captivated by it, then these raindrops of sorrow will soon evaporate
And both my mood and the weather will brighten

Even if I’m having a bad day, I’m the type that quickly forgets about it
If the forecast says tomorrow will be sunny, that’s great! Let’s go somewhere

It’s fine if the road is rough; I’ll take it one step at a time
I’ll walk without hesitation, with my own two feet
(I’ve still got a lot to learn!!)

My heart is always bathed in sunlight, ‘cause that’s the way I am
I’ll hum a song as I go at my own pace and blissfully chase away the rainclouds
I’ll move forward while laughing to my heart’s content

If you look up at the sky, I think you can just make out some light through the clouds
Every day is surely full of hopes and dreams
(Viva hare otoko!!)

This brilliantly bright sky was mirroring your smile
If I’m completely captivated by it, then these raindrops of sorrow will soon evaporate

My heart is always bathed in sunlight, ‘cause that’s the way I am
I’ll hum a song as I go at my own pace and blissfully chase away the rainclouds
I’ll move forward while laughing to my heart’s content

Even rainy days and windy days will be beautiful, as long as you’re there
The hare otoko starts running—shining bright

Leave a Reply

